Cleaning the coop and Making Yogurt!!!

ON my motorcycle ride I pulled over and got this lovely shot of Mt. McLoughlin and the valley along Stagecoach Rd.  Such a pretty day.

ON my motorcycle ride I pulled over and got this lovely shot of Mt. McLoughlin and the valley along Stagecoach Rd. Such a pretty day.

Life has been good for me lately. I have been up and able to do some activities every day for a week! I enjoyed a wonderful motorcycle ride last Friday. Nearly 80 miles of beautiful countryside. Lots of blossoms and lovely aromas to enjoy. Spring has definitely SPRUNG!!!

My boyfriend got the “best boyfriend ever” award on saturday. He drove out here to the farm and mucked out 6+ months worth of eww and poo from the chicken coop!!! I don’t know about all of you, but my past has not included many men that would do “crappy” jobs like that for me. Not only did he haul all that out of there, but he did it with a smile and cracking jokes and being attentive to me all at the same time. I am impressed! When he got near to being done, he says “honey, I know I”m not going to get it as well as you would, so I’ll let you do your pretty stuff”. We’ve only been dating for 6 months and he’s already figured out that I am a bit OCD about cleaning. He also made and installed a poop board for me after asking me where and how I wanted it done. Sure am glad I met this guy!

I used the deep litter method with excellent results.  I had not cleaned it since I got the girls in October!

I used the deep litter method with excellent results. I had not cleaned it since I got the girls in October!

My Silver Laced Wyandottes are now 8 weeks old.  Still not sure if both are pullets.

My Silver Laced Wyandottes are now 8 weeks old. Still not sure if both are pullets.

So I got in there with the Basic H, my homemade orange/lemon vinager spray bottle and the hose! I scrubbed and hosed and scraped and scrubbed some more. When it was to my liking I sprayed the whole thing with the Vinegar mix and let it just set. Then, I wallpapered with feed bags. Just to cheer it up a bit! I am hoping to make some privacy curtains soon for the nesting boxes. A bale of straw and some pine shavings in the nests and the girls were happy to get back in there. The babies will be joining them in another week or so. They are 8 weeks old today!

This is Pumpkin and Peggy.  It is very obvious that Pumpkin is a roo!

This is Pumpkin and Peggy. It is very obvious that Pumpkin is a roo!

Sunday I slept in and missed church. It was ok, I just put on some praise and worship music and had my own church right here!!! I am so grateful for my salvation!!!! After I got ready I headed into town for my meeting. The afternoon was spent with my guy and his son doing some shooting up Spencer Creek. Sure is some pretty country up there.033

On Monday we took a road trip to Salem to do some business and I was able to see a friend there, then we stopped in Eugene and had dinner with my brother and his girlfriend on our way home. It was our first road trip together and we both enjoyed one another’s company!

Yesterday I spent some time hauling the last of the wood down from the splitter area and stacking it. I have 1/4 cord left to last. Hoping we have no large dips in temperature. I also started cleaning up a bit of debris that has collected around the barn. I am ready to start getting things looking nice for summer.

I made yogurt today. I had said I would post instructions for making yogurt. I have 2 pints “brewing” in the crock pot right now. Here is how I did it…it is so easy!!!

1. Sterilize jars in the dishwasher or oven. If in the dishwasher, I always run a second rinse when canning or needing sterile jars. In the oven, place the jars on a cookie sheet, not touching each other, in an oven that is preheated to 225 degrees. Leave them there for 10 full minutes. They can stay in longer, but need 10 minutes for certain.

Milk in the saucepan and heated to 110 degrees.

Milk in the saucepan and heated to 110 degrees.

2. Set up a crock pot with about 2 inches of water in the bottom and put it on low.

3. Pour your raw milk into a clean saucepan and heat on low until milk reaches 110 degrees. I sliced a vanilla bean down the center and scraped out the insides into my milk. When milk reaches 110 degrees stir in 1 Tblspn. *yogurt culture per cup of milk used. I use a whisk and try to get the lumps out by stirring well.

Sliced bean down the center and scraped out the insides to put in the milk.  Saved the pods for use later...maybe for cleaner.

Sliced bean down the center and scraped out the insides to put in the milk. Saved the pods for use later…maybe for cleaner.

4. Pour the warm milk into your jars that are fresh out of the oven and then lower them carefully into the water in the crock pot. My water was at 115 from being preheated on LOW. I turned it to the WARM setting and put the lid on. I will check it periodically and if the temperature is much below 90 I will turn the crock pot back up to LOW until it gets back up to 110 degrees. You don’t want it higher than that tho, and don’t let it drop much below 90. Ideally having it stay at 100 degrees for 6-24 hours is best. I will leave mine overnight as I did before. After it is “set” cover and place in the refrigerator to cool.

I saved this starter from my last batch.  The starter MUST have live cultures to be used.  I had originally used Nancy's plain yogurt, but this was from my last batch.  The whey is fine to use!

I saved this starter from my last batch. The starter MUST have live cultures to be used. I had originally used Nancy’s plain yogurt, but this was from my last batch. The whey is fine to use!

The jars filled with the mixture and placed in the crock pot and kept at 100 degrees for 6-24 hours or until set!  Then refridgerate.  Yum

The jars filled with the mixture and placed in the crock pot and kept at 100 degrees for 6-24 hours or until set! Then refridgerate. Yum

I added the vanilla bean because I like it. I did not add any sweetener of any kind because I prefer to drizzle a lil maple syrup over it if I decide that’s what I want, but if I decide to use it with baking I don’t want added sweetener. Use your own discretion. I really think this is a slick method! Easy peezy! I hope it works well for you.

This yogurt was so delicious!  I can't wait for my new batch to be done.

This yogurt was so delicious! I can’t wait for my new batch to be done.

4 thoughts on “Cleaning the coop and Making Yogurt!!!

  1. Thank you for posting the instructions for making yogurt. I want to try this when I get some raw milk. 😉

    • You are welcome. FYI: I had to turn to crock pot OFF and just wrapped a towel around the lid to keep the heat in and then turned it on again after a couple hours to warm it back up. It was too hot on WARM.

  2. Another easy way is to put the yoghurt in a food dehydrator set at 100 degrees. Probably takes more electricity tho. I use that method and do everything else like you do, including the vanilla bean. Love it!

Leave a Reply

