Almost 7 weeks old! They have grown so much already.

I was ready for a day at home to just kinda putter around. I didn’t have a lot of energy and I haven’t had a day to just be at home and be quiet for at least a week, so I was ready.

My first attempt at yogurt making and it worked perfectly!

My first attempt at yogurt making and it worked perfectly!

I started my day late with some fresh yogurt! I was so pleased how it turned out. A very nice tangy flavor. I drizzled some of my Ginger Lemon Honey over it and added a generous scoop of home canned sugar-free peaches. What a treat! Smooth tangy creaminess with a light sweetness combined with the summery goodness of peaches. That was my appetizer. About 2 hours later I had potatoes O’Brien topped with a fried egg. And a fresh orange. I was now suitably fed for whatever I needed or wanted to do this afternoon.

My breakfast.  Homemade yogurt with home canned peaches and a drizzle of Ginger Lemon Honey!

My breakfast. Homemade yogurt with home canned peaches and a drizzle of Ginger Lemon Honey!

I started out whipping up a batch of homemade ice cream. I did a very basic recipe for uncooked ice cream with raw milk. I did the freezer method which is time-consuming (you must visit the freezer every 20-30 minutes to whip up the ice cream).

Winnie and Donna were chest to chest...and as fast as it happened it was over.

Winnie and Donna were chest to chest…and as fast as it happened it was over.

I then went out with the big girls for a bit.  I took them a snack of oats, molasses, egg, squash seeds and yogurt. Then I sat down and just watched and took a few photos. Blue was in a mood today for sure. She was up right next to me. Talking to me in her own little chirping voice.

I was sitting on the chaise lounge frame taking pics and here comes Blue up behind me, hops up and then sits right next to me.  She is like that sometimes...

I was sitting on the chaise lounge frame taking pics and here comes Blue up behind me, hops up and then sits right next to me. She is like that sometimes…

It had been awhile since I had the little girls out. More than a week. They are growing so fast I hardly recognize them. They are now averaging a pound of food per week. I haven’t weighed any of them, but they are definitely bulking up!Thelma

This dynamic duo has grown so much.  Both are Silver Laced Wyanodottes, but they sure are diffently marked!

This dynamic duo has grown so much. Both are Silver Laced Wyanodottes, but they sure are differently marked!

She is just the sweetest most docile thing

She is just the sweetest most docile thing

My Welsummer Princess!  So pretty.

My Welsummer Princess! So pretty.

She just looks regal to me.

She just looks regal to me.

The battery on the camara died before I could do personalized photos of the Speckled Sussex. I will get them next time. I hope you enjoy! I just love my life with chickens. LIfe on the farm is good.

4 thoughts on “Almost 7 weeks old! They have grown so much already.

Leave a Reply

