Let me introduce you to the Layers!

I was hit with the chicken bug last spring. It all started with a trip to the local feed store to do some shopping for landscape items. That is where I saw the baby chicks. Then I started noticing that many of my neighbors had a flock of chickens running around in their yard. The more I saw chickens the more I wanted them. I was Googling coops and combs and breeds and how to make them safe nearly every day. There was a loosely organized thought that I would be able to get some of my own chickens the spring of 2013.

Things changed in a hurry. I moved to my current abode the end of summer. It was not a planned move but it has worked out perfectly. There was an un-used coop right next to the barn where my apartment is. I had discussed the possibilities of having my own flock with my landlords before I even moved in. I had envisioned a pretty little coop that was all cutsy and decorated. Instead, I have an old animal shed that has been converted into a coop with a LOT of chicken wire. It is not pretty at all, and was dirty to boot! It took me a couple days of hauling all the old matter out and scrubbing and doing a few safety modifications to get it up to snuff. When it was all done and ready for some hens I was a proud gal!

The coop with the new wall I added.

The coop with the new wall I added.

I found an ad on Craigslist. A woman was going through a relationship break-up and was moving herself and her 6 kids to her parents. She had 13 hens that she adored and wanted them to go to a good home where they would have happy cage free days. We began sending messages back and forth. We talked on the phone. An agreement was made. I promised that I would never put these girls in a soup pot and that they would have a good and happy life on the farm until the day they died naturally.

I was so excited when I went to pick them up. I had two big cages. It was the middle of the day. These girls did not have a coop but were ground birds in a backyard. Although these girls had been handled all their lives and had their wings clipped they were hard to catch in the middle of the day! And of course, I had never caught chickens before. It was pretty funny. We somehow managed to get them all in the cages and I was giddy with excitement driving back to the farm.

So here is the lineup:

Grandma, a New Hampshire Red, is head of the flock.  She rules!

Grandma, a New Hampshire Red, is head of the flock. She rules!

This is Sweetie.  She is a Black Australorp.  She is named Sweetie for a reason.  Love this girl.

This is Sweetie. She is a Black Australorp. She is named Sweetie for a reason. Love this girl.

This is Tawnya and Beatrice, my Ameraucana's.  They give me pretty blue eggs, but not during the winter.  Very shy girls.

This is Tawnya and Beatrice, my Ameraucana’s. They give me pretty blue eggs, but not during the winter. Very shy girls.

Baby Blue has been so funny lately.  She is an Andalusian Blue and makes some of the most interesting noises.

Baby Blue has been so funny lately. She is an Andalusian Blue and makes some of the most interesting noises.

Goldie is another NH Red.  She is a good layer, and not shy at all!

Goldie is another NH Red. She is a good layer, and not shy at all!

Ziggy and Ruffles, my Barred Rocks. They are very docile and great layers!

Ziggy and Ruffles, my Barred Rocks. They are very docile and great layers!

Donna is looking at you.  She is a Polish hen.  Love her bouffant hairdo!

Donna is looking at you. She is a Polish hen. Love her bouffant hairdo!

Big Red, and Rhode Island Red, sitting in my flower pot.  She gives me an egg almost every day.  She also is one of the most aggresive of my girls.

Big Red, a Rhode Island Red, sitting in my flower pot. She gives me an egg almost every day. She also is one of the most aggresive of my girls.

Winnie is a Golden Laced Wyandotte.  She is very pretty and elegant and a sweet hen.

Winnie is a Golden Laced Wyandotte. She is very pretty and elegant and a sweet hen.

I'm not sure, but I think Honey is a Welsummer.  She was pretty beat up when she got here, but is very healthy and happy now.

I’m not sure, but I think Honey is a Welsummer. She was pretty beat up when she got here, but is very healthy and happy now.

Grace was another Ameraucana.  She became dinner for a hawk.  RIP Grace.

Grace was another Ameraucana. She became dinner for a hawk. RIP Grace.

That is all of them. I love these girls.  They are MY girls. They provide so much more than eggs.  They give me a purpose to get out of bed on days that it would be easier to stay in bed.  They give me lots of wonderful eggs.   They make me smile. The provide hours of entertainment when I choose to go outside and watch them. I have learned so much about chickens in the short time I have had them here with me. 

They are spoiled! They get treats and talked to and picked up and cuddled. They have their pictures taken often. Everyone who visits the farm comments on how pretty they are and how happy they truly seem.

Of all the things they do for me, one of the best is allowing me to be part of a very large collections of people…and that is “those crazy chicken people”! I am PROUD to be a crazy chicken lady! 🙂 And I am proud to be associated with all of you!

Thanks for letting me share my girls with you!

8 thoughts on “Let me introduce you to the Layers!

  1. I have 13 hens and a roo named Murphy, he’s so nice and gentle so far and knows who is the boss. He was a rescue from a cage and his toes were curled in and he really didn’t know what to do with himself when he was interduced to all the girls. It took awhile for them to adjust but they seem to be doing great,

  2. Love all your chickens! You’ve got some really pretty girls 🙂 I can totally relate – if I didn’t have my chickens and horses I dunno if I’d get up at all some mornings! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Hi I found your blog through a post I shared and had to stop by for a visit. I love what you are doing and how you are living. I want chickens but husband says I’ll get too attached to them, I’m not giving up the fight. We had our black lab dog put down in June and I can’t bring myself to get another dog, so I always had an interest in chickens. Want them for eggs and just to hang around with sometimes. I’m going to follow your blog- really enjoyed the visit and glad I stopped in. Pop in and visit me if you have time. Thanks, Sandi Oh, by the way, they are all BEAUTIES~

Leave a Reply

