Another Autumn day in Applegate

I could hear the rain off and on all night last night.  Did you catch that?  I was awake off and on all night last night.  So when I heard the ladies making a bit of a ruckus, I knew it was time to get up and get moving, at least enough to get them out of their coop.  I was happily surprised by 4 eggs first thing in the morning.  Typically they don’t deliver until later in the morning.  By the later morning there were 2 more.  That has been their average the last couple weeks.

I had salvaged an old huge zuchinni that was left by someone at the little market up the road to give to my hens.  I thought it might be a nice treat for them.  I cut it up into small pieces so they wouldn’t have to fight over it and everyone could have their own.  I went down and they all came running.  I started throwing out the pieces of zuchinni and they scrambled after them, and just as quickly turned around and came right back to me.  They were not the least bit interested in that zuchinni, and they were looking at me like they reallly thought I should have something for them. They were out of luck.  I had already given them all of my scraps from my cooking extravaganza yesterday.  I wonder if the dogs will come up and eat it or if I will have to rake it all up and haul it down to the sheep.  They aren’t so picky!!

I took a little ride down to the market and had a wonderful cup of Mulligatawny soup.  It was make with pork.  If you have never tried this curried Indian soup, I recommend you give it a try.  I had never had it before and will be searching out a recipe in the near future.  Or maybe the diner will give me their recipe.  That would be some nice sharing.

There are these trees that I pass frequently on my travels.  I have noticed them every time I’ve passed them in the last couple weeks.  Their coloring is beautiful.  I pulled over on the bike to take a picture.  By the time I took off my goggles, gloves and helmet and dug my phone out of my little bag, someone else was stopped and posing for a photo op in front of this tree.  My phone camara does not begin to do the color justice.  I hope you enjoy it anyhow.

Beautiful trees along the Applegate River.

 

I had run out of time and energy last night, so I still had the defrosted pumpkin to use up today.  I considered trying a new recipe, but in the end decided to use one I had used in the past with good success.  It is the Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread on Allrecipes.  Here is a link.  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/downeast-maine-pumpkin-bread/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=maine%20pumpkin&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page

I substituted lowfat plain organic yogurt for the buttermilk because that is what I had.  I also substituted sunflower seeds for the pumpkin seeds.  These all turned out great.  Some to share, some for now, and some to freeze for later.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin bread

I think tomorrow I am going to have to get busy with my firewood.  And I still have boxes to unpack.  There is always something, which is a good thing.  I like having things to do, that aren’t pressing at me, but keep me looking forward to staying busy.  Hope you enjoyed a cozy autumn day wherever you are.  I am grateful for the bounties in my cupboards and freezer.

Leave a Reply

